Collection License Application

Collection Agency License Application and Renewal Process

Following these instructions are files containing the application forms used to apply for a collection agency license in the State of Wyoming. Fees are payable to the Wyoming Collection Agency Board at the time of filing. You can access the Board's laws and regulations at this link.


New Application $500.00

Renewal Application $150.00

Resident Manager Exam $100.00

A bond in the amount of $10,000 is required for each licensed agency. A blank form to be used in securing a bond is provided, along with a detailed instruction sheet - please be sure to follow these instructions carefully.

A resident manager is required for all licensed collection agencies operating in Wyoming. A resident manager may serve as resident manager for up to ten (10) agencies in the State of Wyoming. At the bottom of this page is a list of qualified resident managers prepared to serve as a resident manager for additional collection agencies in this state.

All new resident managers must satisfactorily complete a resident manager examination which will cover the material in the Wyoming Collection Agency Laws and Rules, and the Federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The examination is an open book examination and will be forwarded to qualified applicants via e-mail. In addition, the proposed resident manager must have at least one year of experience in the collection business.

After reviewing the application materials, please feel free to contact the Board if you should have any questions. Please contact us at (307) 777-3497 or by e-mail at

Application for a Wyoming Collection Agency License - all applicants must complete

Effective February 1, 2018, only the Collection Agency license application form located at the bottom of this page will be accepted for processing. Any applications submitted on older forms after that date will be returned and required to be submitted on the current application form.

Surety Bond Form - All applicants must complete.

Bond Check List - Provides pertinent information for proper completion of the surety bond.

License Renewal Process

After reading the instructions below, the license renewal application is located at the bottom of this page.


Please DO NOT complete the License Renewal application if you have already filed your renewal application.

Submitting your renewal application does not mean that your license is automatically renewed.

Collection Agency licenses will expire one (1) year from the date issued. Operation without a current license is subject to penalties.

To file your renewal application , follow the steps below:

Step 1: Please Read It Carefully

Step 2: Answer All Requirements

    • Complete the Bank Account Information form.

    • Attach a current copy of the required "Certificate of Continued Coverage" for your $10, 000.00 bond from the Surety Company.

    • Form B1 Business Information needs to be completed in its entirety including all "required" fields.

Step 3: Submit Information

    • Submit the completed Collection Agency renewal using the contact information provided in your license renewal letter. Upon receipt of the renewal and approval of your application, the Collection Agency Board will mail your renewed license to your resident manager. Please do NOT submit your license renewal application by mail if you or your resident manager have successfully submitted your application already. Submitting duplicate applications will create delays in renewal of your license.

    • Please return by mail with your renewal application the required renewal fee ($150.00) made payable to the "Collection Agency Board".

Certificate of Exemption Application

If you feel your agency may not require a collection agency license for the State of Wyoming, please complete the Certificate of Exemption application (located at bottom of this page) and forward it to the Collection Agency Board for review. The Board will provide written notification of your company's exemption status for the State of Wyoming. If the Board determines a license is needed, you will be required to obtain this license prior to conducting collection business in this state.

The Board recommends all entities monitor changes made to Wyoming statutes and regulations governing collection agencies as this may change an entity's exemption status or the need to obtain a license.

Collection Agency Applications and Forms (Please click the download arrow on the right side of the page to download forms. Non-Google users may experience download issues if not using the download arrow.)